Sunday,  August 9, 2020  5:01 pm

France has reopened its borders for Canadian travellers

France has reopened its borders for Canadian travellers
Caroline Leboucher, CEO of Atout France. (Supplied)
Pax Global Media

France and the other Member States of the European Union adopted a recommendation on the reopening of Europe's external borders from July 1, 2020, to a first list of fourteen countries, including Japan, South Korea, Australia, Thailand, Canada, as well as China, subject to reciprocity. 

This list will be reviewed every two weeks.

"We are delighted to be able to welcome tourists from Japan, South Korea, Australia, Thailand or Canada to France once again and are awaiting confirmation regarding China," stated Caroline Leboucher, CEO of Atout France, in a release.  "All the tourism professionals have been working over the last few months so that we can enable them to (re)discover French destinations in the best possible conditions, particularly in terms of health security."

In view of the satisfactory epidemiological evolution on European territory, new measures have been adopted following the decisions taken on June 15th with regards to the reopening of European borders (Schengen area) and the opening of borders to international visitors after July 1.

The first countries eligible for this reopening are: Australia, Canada, South Korea, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Thailand, Uruguay, three North African States (Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia), two Eastern European States (Montenegro, Serbia) and Georgia.

The United States, Russia, Israel, Turkey and Saudi Arabia are, at this stage, excluded from this list, as the situation of the COVID-19 pandemic is considered to be more serious there than in Europe. 

The reopening of borders with China is moreover suspended on the principle of reciprocity (China has not yet reopened its borders to European travellers).

As a reminder, since June 15th, the internal borders of the European Union - Schengen area reopened June 15th (and Spain’s on June 21st). All health and security measures are being taken on a case-by-case basis to ensure that the border restrictions are lifted in the best possible conditions.

However, the British government (the United Kingdom being, in the post-Brexit transition period, still considered as an EU Member State) has decided to impose since June 8th a two-week period quarantine on foreign travellers, therefore France is applying the rule of reciprocity until further notice. However, the two-week period quarantine measure should evolve in the near future.  

France was visited by 1.2 millions Canadians in 2019.

It should be noted that, while the EU lifts travel restrictions for Canadians, the Government of Canada, for its part, still advises its citizens to avoid non-essential travel outside of Canada until further notice. Canadians also, by law, must self-isolate for 14 days upon returning Canada. 

For more info on France's reopening, go to

Don't miss a single travel story: subscribe to PAX today!