Wednesday,  August 12, 2020  7:55 pm

Canada didn’t make Britain's new quarantine-free travel list

  • Other
  •   07-03-2020  1:00 pm
  •   Pax Global Media

Canada didn’t make Britain's new quarantine-free travel list
Pax Global Media

Britain is allowing travellers from dozens of countries to arrive without self-isolating for 14 days, but Canada isn't on the list.

The UK on Friday (July 3th) released a “travel corridor” list for people arriving from countries deemed a “lower risk.”

Travellers who have only been to or stopped in the countries on the list during the previous 14 days won’t have to self-isolate upon their arrival in Britain, states the guidance released by the British government.

The quarantine exemptions are set to begin on July 10th

Germany, France, Spain, the Netherlands, Italy, Greece, Belgium, Turkey, Japan, Taiwan, , Australia, and New Zealand are some of the 59 countries on the list.

But Canada, as well as the United States, didn’t make the cut.

According to the Johns Hopkins University COVID-19 data tracker, Canada had 106,748 recorded cases of the virus as of Friday afternoon.

The U.S. is still the hard-hit country in the world for coronavirus infections, showing a record 52,300 newly reported cases on Friday. America’s total case count now tops 2,760,664, according to Johns Hopkins.

Meanwhile the U.K. said that starting on July 5th, Canada will be exempt from its Foreign Office advice against all non-essential international travel.

Other countries that didn’t make Britain's travel corridor list include Russia, Sweden, Portugal, India, and China.

The UK has recorded nearly 44,000 deaths related to COVID-19, making it one of the hardest-hit regions in Europe.

Don't miss a single travel story: subscribe to PAX today!